top of page


AWIS logo clear background.png

 Pam Oliver (Fox Sports Senior NFL Correspondent) received the Lifetime Achievement Award presented by Managing Partner, Sports Unlimited Enterprise, Erika Y. Mitchell.


Additional honorees for the 2019 awards ceremony include Dr. Jen Welter,  Marianna Whitehurst, and Anuche Browne received the Trailblazers awards.  Lilian Abdelmalek, Santia Deck (Rugby & USA Flag Football), Andrea Bustamante (Youth Soccer Programs, Director Decatur-Dekalb YMCA), Nzinga Shaw (SVP, Chief Diversity & Inclusion, Atlanta Hawks) and Pharlone C. Toussaint (Atlanta Programs Coordinator, Laureus Sport for Good Found. USA) received Atlanta Women in Sports awards. Ms. Lericia Harris (Sideline Reporter/Sports Anchor)  served as the Mistress of Ceremonies for the awards celebration.


A cadre of current and former NBA, NFL and WNBA players presented these esteemed women: Theo Raflitt, Retired NBA (L.A. Lakers); Orson Charles, NFL (Cleveland Browns); Stevie Baggs, (Former NFL/Actor/Author), Aaron Rouse (Virginia Beach City Councilman and former Green Bay Packer); Angel McCoughtry (Atlanta Dream), Simone Edwards (Retired WNBA), Steve Weatherly, (NFL, Minnesota Vikings), Steven McClendon (NFL New York Jets), Trevor Williams (NFL L.A Chargers) and Atlanta City Councilman, Honorable Andre Dickens.


 Nicole Watson (Journalist) hosted the luncheon which includes esteemed women in sports speaking on panels that includes Trailblazer Women in Sports, Collegiate Women in Sports and LGBTQ Inclusion.


Moderators for Trailblazer Women Panel is Nicole Watson (Journalist), with the following panel: Pam Oliver (Fox Sports/Snr. NFL Correspondent), Marianna Whitehurst (Board Mem.; Playworks GA, Georgia Sports Hall of Fame, Chick Fil A Peach Bowl), Anuche Browne (Chief Strategy & Engagement Officer, UNICEF USA), and Dr. Jen Welter (Former NFL Coach/Author) and Television personality Rashan Ali.


Jacklyn Sklaver (Sports Nutritionist, Collegiate Women in Sports) serves as the panel moderator which includes: Patrina King (Founder/CEO Golf Women Mean Business), Dinika Johnson (Head Athletic Trainer, Georgia State Univ.), Dr. Trisha Vandusseldorp (Asst. Prof. Exercise Science, Kennesaw State Univ.), and Lilian Abdelmalek (Dynamics of Speed and Agility Training).


Park Cannon (Georgia State Rep Dist. 58) will moderate LGBTQ Inclusion panel which includes, Simone Edwards (Former WNBA Player/Author), Amazin Lethi (Founder, Amazin Lethi Foundation)

bottom of page